UNESCO Registered

There are now Nine tangible and 2 intangible in total eleven UNESCO registered possessions as heritages of the world. Rock Hewn Churches of Lalibela (The 8th wonder of the world: Lalibela) Lalibela is designated as world Heritage site in 1978.Originally thought to

have been built in the 12th century duringthe reign of King Lalibela, but some have been dated back to the 10th century.

There are eleven churches, assembled in three groupings; the Northern Group: Bete Medhane Alem, home to the Lalibela Cross and believed to be the largest monolithic church in the world. It is linked to Bete Maryam (possibly the oldest of the churches), Bete Golgotha (known for its arts and said to contain the tomb of King Lalibela), the Selassie Chapel and the Tomb of Adam. The Western Group: Bete Giyorgis, said to be the most finely executed and best preserved church. The Eastern Group: Bete Amanuel, Bete Merkorios, Bete Abba Libanos and Bete Gabriel-Rufael. Further afield are  the monastery of Ashetan Maryam and  cave monastery of Yimrehane Kristos


Lalibela - 8th wonder of the world

Axum Historical Site

The Castles of Gondar

The Simien Mountain National Park

Harar – the Walled Town

Tiya Archaeological Site

Awash Lower Valley Sites

The Lower Omo Valley

Konso Cultural Landscape

Meskel festival

Fichee Chambalalaa